Casey Costelloe

Time to meet this goal-getting MAXIM model, influencer and business student who plans to release a new activewear and swimwear line…

Sensational shoot, Casey. What did you love most about it?
Thanks! It was actually nice to shoot at a local beach of mine, called Spoon Bay, on the NSW Central Coast. I grew up around here and [the photographer] Neil Dixon lives close by. So, we organised the shoot just after I got back from living in L.A..

What do you think is your best asset?
I think physically my best asset would be my eyes – these are what most people tend to comment the most. Or maybe my olive skin – I don’t like to wear fake tan ever, but always seem to remain quite tanned naturally. Personality-wise, maybe my laid back, easy-going nature. I’m a happy go lucky kinda gal.

When do you feel sexy?
I feel my best when I’ve had some routine – I love to exercise, eat healthy and keep fit. So when I feel good on the inside it gives me more confidence on the outside, and that’s when I believe I feel my sexiest.

Tell us a bit more about yourself and your life story so far.
I grew up on the Central Coast of NSW, I’ve lived there and in Sydney for most of my life. After school I studied captive animals, as I wanted to work within that industry, but a quick decision to go and work at a summer camp in the U.S. led me on a different path. Since then the travel bug hit me hard. I worked in a few different administrative jobs over the years but about four years ago I’d had enough of the daily grind and decided to do what I loved. I travelled and modelled part-time and somehow have made it work to this day.

When you’re not posing for MAXIM what are you doing?
Besides modelling and social media stuff, I’ve recently decided to pick-up the books again and study my Diploma in Business and currently in the process of making my own gym and swimwear line – stay tuned.

Cool. What do you love to do for fun?
Obviously travelling. I love being outdoors and experiencing new cultures and going on spontaneous adventures. I’m currently travelling north of NSW in a motor home which I find super fun being on the road and stopping off at random locations and caravan parks.

What would people be most surprised to learn about you?
Most people are surprised when I tell them I grew up playing competitive tennis. I was also a tennis instructor at a U.S. summer camp. Occasionally, I’ll help out my mum at her tennis centre with coaching.

Cool. How would you describe yourself on five words?
Easy-going, spontaneous, adventurous, friendly, sweet.

Finish this sentence: Public nudity is…
So fine with me! I wish more people would do it so it was more accepted amongst communities.

You have a big following on Instagram — what are the pros and cons of being an Influencer?
The pros are being able to be flexible with your time, not having to do the daily grind of a nine-to-five job. Still being able to do the things you love, like travelling when you want for longer periods of time. Also working for awesome brands and getting creative with your content. You can do it from anywhere in the world on your own time – can’t really beat that. I feel very lucky! The cons are getting DMs from some pretty creepy people, people judging you when they don’t even know you and it can also be hard on relationships.

What’s been the toughest thing for you living in these crazy COVID-19 times?
I’m doing OK, I can’t complain. I’ve just been stuck at home staying with family and going a little crazy as I’m always looking for the next adventure. The toughest thing has been the fact I can’t go overseas – I had some pretty epic trips planned for the year, but it has been nice to spend some quality time with loved ones.

You’re really good mates with another Casey – MAXIM cover girl Casey Boonstra – who now lives in L.A.. Tell us about the mischief you guys get up to when you are both in the U.S.
Ahhhhh, Casey — my inner wild child and my naughty little sister and best friend. She certainly brings out the best in me and I thank my lucky stars she walked into my life at such a perfect time. I’ve had some of the best moments of my life with this girl. We have got up to some mischief and made some great memories together. I can’t share it all, but I guess one time we ended up going to one of our Aussie mate’s house in L.A., had a few drinks and ended up bar hoping dressed like bogans in overalls and Hawaiian T-shirts.

You’ve also been to some cool VIP parties over the years. What has been a memorable one?
I sure have! Probably when Casey Boonstra and I ended up at Leonardo DiCaprio’s pre-birthday party. It was my birthday weekend and we had no idea if it was legit or not but we decided to go after having a few drinks together. Casey and I turned up at the address we were given and saw him and a whole bunch of other celebs there. Turned out to be such a fun night! That was pretty cool as I’ve always been a huge fan of him. I’m not usually star struck.

Well, Leo is known to be a bit of a ladies man. What do you look for in guy?
Someone with a good sense of humour that can make me laugh, has a kind heart and is family orientated. Tall dark and handsome helps, too!

Aside from the above, what else does he have to do to possibly win his way to your heart?
Food! Don’t be that guy who counts calories every meal, be that guy who eats pizza on a random Tuesday night followed by a big bowl of ice-cream or whole block of chocolate. Life is all about balance. Also, be a gentleman.

Pizza, ice-cream, whole blocks of chocolate… got it! Describe your ideal date.
A day trip somewhere – surprise me, I like surprises. Hire a boat or kayak and take me to a quiet beach and have some homemade sandwiches and some cheese and wine. That’s seriously my kind of date!

What’s one thing men should always remember about women?
We change our minds constantly so be ready for it and stay patient!

What have you learnt about men over the years?
You think they’ll grow up but they never do.

Fair go! What’s next for you? Any exciting projects on the horizon?
My biggest project at this time is finding a home to call my own. It’s actually a lot more time consuming than I thought.

Finally, where would you like to be in five years?
I’d like to be living part-time in Australia and the other half of the year in the U.S., have my own label or online business and possibly have started a family of my own. ■


FULL NAME: Casey Louise Costelloe
BORN: November 10, 1989
HOMETOWN: Central Coast, NSW
LIVES: “Sydney but I’m more of a nomad these days.”
HOBBIES: “Travel, hiking, playing with my pets.”
HIDDEN TALENT: “I can make a clover with my tongue?”
PHOBIAS: “I can’t stand spiders and I’m also claustrophobic.”
GIRL CRUSH: Miranda Kerr, she’s such a cutie and she’s Aussie!!
FAVOURITE DRINK: “A Margarita, please, and thank you.”
HANGOVER CURE: “Haven’t found one yet! If you find the answer, please let me know as they seem to be getting worse every year.”
LIFE MOTTO: “Life is what you make it.”
INSTAGRAM: @caseycostelloe


For the full article grab the September 2020 issue of MAXIM Australia from newsagents and convenience locations. Subscribe here.

Christine Quinn

Scotty James